Beauty · Nails

Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy

Gel Nails. These two words scare the heck out of my nails. If you know me, you would know that I had horrible experiences with gel. Long story short, every time I do gel, my nails tend to get weaker and break off completely, so my long nails become very short *bye-bye long nails 😕. I always see commercials about nail polishes like the Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy and Sally Hansen Miracle Gel which are supposed to deliver the same gel like effect without UV rays AND damaging the nails! Like yes please!

IMG_3713

The Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy comes in two steps which are simple to follow:

  • Step 1 combines the base and color into one, so you do not need a base coat. You apply two coats to the nails, wait for it to dry, and apply step 2.
  • Step 2 is where the magic happens. This is the top coat, and you apply one coat onto each nail. Once you apply the top coat, you just let natural light do it’s thing and bayum, you have gel like nails without the UV rays!

IMG_3718

The color I got was perfect pair. It reminds me of so many lip products I have. It’s a nice mauve, nude, pink? I think that’s how I would describe the color, but it’s so beautiful on the nails and has to be my new go to shade.

IMG_4221.JPG

The applicator is the typical Revlon applicator, making it very easy to apply. The applicator looks like there’s two separate group of bristles attached to one brush, but for some reason, because of this the application of the polish is easier for me. It’s flat, and I’m able to control the amount of polish very well.

I applied the polish on August 3rd, 2016. I honestly love this color like how cute is it! Let’s see how it last though.

ONE WEEK LATER…

There is minimal chipping. The one that chipped the most is my index finger. It’s probably because that’s the finger most used. But everything else looks good. My nails still look as if I just got them done! BINGO! Let me remind you that I still did my normal routines: cooked, cleaned, laundry, chores, etc., and they still look good.

I really wanted to remove this nail polish and refile my nails since they were getting too long, but I had to make sure to document everything correctly for this review.

TWO WEEKS LATER…

This past week, my nails took a beating! I still did my normal routines, but this week I made kimchi- which means I was in contact with salt water, hot peppers, and kimchi paste for quite some time (hello damage!). Again, the only really noticeable nail is my index finger; more than half of the polish on my index finger is gone! Some polish is coming off of my thumb, but it’s not as noticeable as my index finger. My nails aren’t as shiny as they were before and looks kind of dull, but they’re still in pretty good shape. You can see that my nail is growing, which is why there’s a gap from my cuticle to the polish. Additionally, during week 2, I noticed that the polish at the front of my nail began to crack. This happened when I used the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel as well once week 2 hit, so I think it’s normal? But other than that, this nail polish stayed on!

Overall thoughts?

After using this for two weeks, my nails still remained strong, long, and healthy. Even after removing the nail polish, my nail was not damaged at all. I really liked how long it stayed on the nail and how it looked. If you don’t really do anything with your hands besides office work, I’m pretty sure that this polish would last longer than two weeks; but personally, I can not have the same polish on for more than 2 weeks. This product is really good if you want gel nails at home and without the UV rays. I think I’m going to start using these polishes more if I want to have the same effects of getting my nails done at salons. Oh yeah! And the great thing about this top coat is that you can use it with ANY nail polish to give it the gel look! How great is that?!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy

    1. I’ve had my gel nails removed by a handful of professional nail technicians along with did my own DIY removal, but no matter what I tried, my nails would always become weaker and damaged. I’ve seen many have the same experience as well. 😦 xx.

      Like

Leave a Reply

