Beauty · Makeup · Skincare

August Ipsy Glam Bag

I don’t know if I’m the only one, but I was really excited for this glam bag. First of all, Michelle Phan designed the bags herself, and they’re so cute! This month’s theme was #SugarHighness and the whole concept of it is so adorable. Okay, let’s get onto the glam bag.

IMG_4207

As usual, I got 5 items in my glam bag, and I believe two are full sized products.

IMG_4184

Organic Surge Daily Care Perfecting Face Polish

I was so confused with this item because of it’s name, but it is actually an exfoliator! It has a slight citrusy scent that reminds me of the St Ives Apricot Scrub; it’s more subtle but has a similar scent. The product claims to “remove dirt, impurities, dead cells to boost skin rejuvenation and reveal a naturally glowing complexion.” It contains ingredients that are beneficial to the skin including:

  • Rosemary and lemon essential oils purify the skin
  • Chamomile and ginkgo biloba soothes the skin
  • Almond oil rehydrates giving softer and smoother skin

IMG_4194

This exfoliator contains finely ground olive stones that help exfoliate the skin. It’s so light and gentle on the skin. It doesn’t irritate the skin and leaves my skin feeling smoother and clean. It doesn’t make my skin feel tight and dry, but leaves it feeling comfortable.

IMG_4190

Trust Fund Beauty Lipgasm in K, Bye

This liquid lipstick color and texture reminds me of the NYX Liquid Suede in Sandstorm and reminds me of the Colourpop Ultra Satin lipstick’s texture. It’s like a mauve pink with hints of brown. I think this has to be one of my favorite products in this Ipsy bag, because it’s something I can wear on a daily basis. It has a doe foot applicator and lasts about 3-4 hours without touch ups. It doesn’t dry completely matte, which is why I compared it to the NYX and Colourpop lippies, since they don’t dry completely either. It’s very comfortable on the lips and isn’t drying as other liquid lipsticks.

* swatch below *

IMG_4189

Rodial Smokey Eye Pen in Black

This eyeliner is a kohl eyeliner which means that it’ll be very easy to blend and smudge. It’s a very soft eyeliner and fairly easy to apply on the lids. I use this and blend it out for a softer winged look and was really surprised how easy it is to blend out. I personally am not a big fan of eyeliners that smudge since it can get all over the place, but I will try using this in future makeup looks!

* swatch below *

IMG_4193

NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator in Sunbeam

If you know me, I love anything that gives makes my skin look healthy and glowing, so I was so happy that I got this in my Ipsy bag. However, it is a bit disappointing. The illuminator isn’t finely milled so there will be small chunks of glitter on the skin. So how I make this illuminator kind work is that I used a little bit, just a little. I usually mix it in with my Missha M BB Cream and it gives the perfect healthy and glowy look. For highlight, I would apply it with my figures for a better control. I feel like if you use a puff or blender, it’s harder because you don’t know how much product is actually on the tool since it can absorb some of the product. ALSO, I love using this as an eyeshadow, kind of like the paint pots. It looks amazing as an inner corner highlight and at the center of the lids. (This product would look very nice on people with fair skin).

**Do not use so much because it will make your face look cakey and very glittery- like the Pacific Vista HS cheerleaders in Bring It On (you know what I’m talking about).

IMG_4201
all the swatches

IMG_4192

Josie Maran Whipped Mud Mask in Vanilla Apricot

I love the Josie Maran Argan Oil, so I was so excited to try this out. It has a fruity and sweet scent that can be a bit overwhelming if you’re sensitive to certain smells. It claims to clarify, firm, and refine the skin.

IMG_4195

To use this product, you apply a generous amount onto your already cleansed skin then wait for five to ten minutes or until it dries. You rinse it off with a damp cloth then wash it off. It should leave your skin feeling soft, clean, and tight. However for me, because it left my skin feeling tight, it also made it pretty dry. My face felt dehydrated and pretty stiff. The thing that I really like about this product is that it did reduce the size of my pores, which I am very happy about. I have mixed feelings about this products because I do like how it reduces the size of my pores, but I hate the tight feeling. I will still use this up, and will update you all on my Instagram! However, I don’t think I will be repurchasing this product, because it’s pretty pricey and I’m almost positive that you can find something that does the same thing for a fraction of the cost.

Overall thoughts?

This month’s bag is by far better than last month’s bag. I really enjoy the liquid lipstick and exfoliator. The illuminator is something that I can also add to my everyday foundation routine, but I just need to be careful so I don’t look like I just slathered glitter on my face. I have to say that the only thing that I did not like as much as the other products is the eyeliner. I feel like since it’s kohl, it will get everywhere on my eye since it’s so easy to blend but it is very good for the dark and smokey looks.

As always, thank you so much for stopping by, and I hope you enjoyed this post!

e

Leave a Reply

